Mercedes SLK World banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello y’all.
In a previous post I indicated I wanted to have my aluminum console anodized; That is not possible as there is a layer of aluminum on top of plastic.
It is a matter of personal taste, but I never liked aluminum parts in cars.
So my plan is to wrap the console. Looking at some utubes I think it is not that difficult to remove the center console. Those aluminum parts in the doors can be wrapped without removing the door panels as I heve no electric seat buttons there.
I must say I buid models, and adding the wrap must be doable for me. I am not a mechanic or an electrician, but I only have to disconnect some connectors to take the console out.

Wrapping the console will protect the console. The wrapping can always be removed if I would want to someday or by a future owner.
I ordered a roll of black aluminum imitating an anodized look. I bought a roll of a brand 3M and not the cheap stuff. I have consideren the carbon look but I wanted something different. If for some reason I do not like it I will remove the wrap.

I ordered enough to do the console twice in case the first attempt fails plus plenty to try wrapping some random things.
The wrapping should come in next week. I will post pictures and my experiences and of course the end result.

Jan

·
Registered
133 Posts