Mercedes SLK World banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Firstly I am new to MB so excuse me if I am asking a silly question.
My wife has just bought a 2005 SLK350 which was imported from Japan.
The speakers have the Harmon/Kardon badges and the stereo has all the usual phone, Nav buttons etc but searching the forum I have not identified the head unit.
It looks like all the others I have seen here with the silver buttons down the sides etc but there is no CD slot at the top.
Instead two of the buttons under the screen are labeled MD and Disc.
The Disc button makes the screen slide up to show the cd slot behind the screen at the bottom and the MD button slides the screen down and shows a Mini Disk slot at the top.
It does not appear to have an Aux in anywhere that I can find nor is it shown as a function on the screen. I don't know if it is a command system or not.
Any help greatly appreciated.

·
DAS/STAR Premium Member 2005 SLK 55 AMG
4,024 Posts
A picture of it would help a lot ...

Cheers
Sean

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks Guys

This is the head unit we have in the SLK350

The screen is motorized and moves up to show the single CD and down to show the Mini Disc

There is also the usual 6 stack CD in the glove box.

If anyone can tell me what this is it would be greatly appreciated.

·
Administrator 2009 SLK 55 AMG/Founding Member 2006
96,275 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
SLK Head unit.

Thanks again guys.

I can see it being replaced in short order with something Ipod and Blue Tooth compatible.

Cheers

Don

·
Registered
193 Posts
According to your data card you have a Japanese version of the comand....also the screen picture indicates that it is a Comand.

·
DAS/STAR Premium Member 2005 SLK 55 AMG
4,024 Posts

·
Premium Member 2006 SLK 280-sold
3,552 Posts