Mercedes SLK World banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this months Ride of the Month Challenge!
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I have had my SRS Warning indicator illuminated for the better part of 6 months now. I was too worried about it because I thought it was merely a fluke considering that my entire dashboard went crazy momentarily upon starting my 2006 280. I turned the vehicle off and restarted with no issues save the now illuminated SRS Warning light.

So I finally sucked it up and took it to the local dealership to have it analyzed. I just got off the phone with them and they informed me that it had something to do with the seat belt coupler. Evidently it has a sensor in it that has gone out and is sending the signal to the dashboard.

My first question: Is this possible?

Second: Can it be fixed in my garage? (I am an accomplished mechanic and have already pulled out my seat once before, with the guidance from a poster here in SLK World, in a failed attempt to repair the seat heater. The failed part refers to the fact that the damage to the heating elements was too extensive to repair).

I am a little reluctant to pay $700 for something that I can repair myself.

·
*Premium Member
2005 SLK55 AMG
11,537 Posts
I'm sure that I've read on the forum in the past that what you've described is possible, and if that's what their diagnostics are pointing to, then it may well be your issue. :(

I'm not sure whether it's something you can repair yourself or not... I'm sure someone else here will be able,to,offer an opinion on that though...