Mercedes SLK World banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, I soon will be a member of the SLK clan. My name is Khang, and I live in Northern CA. San Jose to be exact. I've been riding motorcycles for for a few years now commuting to school and work. This will be my first car :) I'm very excited about the car and hope to have good experiences with it.

I'm looking to purchase a 2001 slk320 6 speed manual. Is it any better than auto in term of reliability?

I did some research but can't seem to find any high mileage SLK320 anywhere. Will these cars last to 200K miles? without too much work? I'll be commuting about 10K-15K a year.

I'll be seeing the car next week. Are there any specific places to pay attention to when checking the car out.

Thanks

·
Registered 2007 SLK200
820 Posts
Welcome fellow rider and a v-twin lover too :)

SLK as a first car good choice :)

Cant help you out with any of your questions though :(

·
Registered
279 Posts
Hello from France,

It can take a lot of time to find a manual 320 in your country, it's even more difficult to find than a 32 AMG

the V6 engine is very reliable, and 200 k miles is not a problem if it has been serviced by MB, and if you can get all the bills to know what job has been done.

anyway, check the roof, the exhaust and catalitic might have been changed, the 12 spark plugs too every 4 years or about 60/80 000 miles, shock absorbers and brakes, look if there is any leak under the car, and the state of the engine/gear box, be aware of any suspicious noise when you drive and have a good try with somebody that knows the 320

don't buy it without having solved any electrical problem or any light alert on the dash board.

at least, keep some money to maintain it in case . . .

And now, go and get one, to enjoy the sound of the V6

http://slk320.fr/jfr/slk320-V6sound.wmv

·
Administrator 2009 SLK 55 AMG/Founding Member 2006
98,464 Posts
vtwin,