Mercedes SLK World banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
194 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all:

After reading about the cat setup in the SLK55 here and elsewhere, I've been considering replacing the secondary cats as I've heard they're rather restrictive 300 cell ceramic ones.

Magnaflow makes a 200-cell spun metallic cat that I've been looking at, but I wanted to double-check with you guys to see if that'd be a suitable replacement. I'm a newbie when it comes to exhaust stuff, so I appreciate any help or advice you can offer. (The forum already proved helpful when I was considering removing my resonator. I did, and installed a Magnaflow X-pipe that was mentioned here, and it sounds *great*!)

Thanks!

-Rob

·
Registered
542 Posts
Hi all:

After reading about the cat setup in the SLK55 here and elsewhere, I've been considering replacing the secondary cats as I've heard they're rather restrictive 300 cell ceramic ones.

Magnaflow makes a 200-cell spun metallic cat that I've been looking at, but I wanted to double-check with you guys to see if that'd be a suitable replacement. I'm a newbie when it comes to exhaust stuff, so I appreciate any help or advice you can offer. (The forum already proved helpful when I was considering removing my resonator. I did, and installed a Magnaflow X-pipe that was mentioned here, and it sounds *great*!)

Thanks!

-Rob
I removed the primary cats (assuming they're primary since they come right off the engine) and put straight pipes that look like cats in their place. Sound is amazing and I get a lot of compliments on it. Smells a bit rich, but the tune is good and the data logs are good. Plus I'm still able to go down my street at 2AM and not wake up the neighbors if I don't want to.

·
Registered
194 Posts
Discussion Starter #3