Mercedes SLK World banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this months Ride of the Month Challenge!
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
*Premium
2006 SLK280
1,236 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I finally got around to installing aftermarket HID headlights in my SLK. I chose a kit from The Retrofit Source:
http://www.theretrofitsource.com/hid-systems/morimoto-elite-hid-system-h7.html

To install on an R171, you will also need the clips because of our unique :rolleyes: headlight mounts:
http://www.theretrofitsource.com/accessories/euro-h7-hid-bulb-adapter-48755.html

There have been other DIYs posted around the site for HID installs, but I'll post my experience in case someone decides to do the same kit. Mostly goes by the book, but there were a few issues for this particular application. As usual, I am not a mechanic and all DIY work us undertaken at your own risk.

Step 1. Open the kit and make sure everything is there. I chose the 35W 5000K kit with the error correcting capacitors. You should have 3 major parts: the bulb wire harness, ballast and capacitor. The clips are shown in later steps.

Step 2. Jack up the front end, take the front wheels and wheel well liners off. There are other posts around for doing this, so I won't repeat that here.

Step 3. Take the dust covers off the low beams, twist off the bulb holder and move the halogen H7 bulb.

Step 4. Prep the dust covers. Drill a hole in the lower half of the dust covers with a 7/8" spade drill bit. Clean up the edges, I used an X-Acto knife.

Step 5. This step isn't on the supplied instructions. The non-bulb end of the bulb wire harness needs to go through the hole you drilled in the dust cap, but it doesn't fit. Seems to be an oversight in the instructions. You have two choices: drill a bigger hole or make room for the connector edges to fit. I chose the latter. Remove the wire straightening clip from the end of the connector: