Mercedes SLK World banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered 2002 SLK320/2001 SLK320
66 Posts
I am in the process of getting a Powerflow exhaust system in the UK.

The new exhaust system is going to go from the 2 inner catalytic converters near the manifold, removing the additional 2 cats further down the exhaust. So I will be left with 2 cats instead of 4.

Has anyone done this and if so, were the MOT fail issues going forward?

·
Registered 2005 SLK350
121 Posts
I believe the biggest problem you will face is not one of emissions, but whether the tester will allow a pass when two of the four standard cats are not physically present. I am no expert but I think the 'normal' MoT requires all standard cats to be fitted and working.

·
Premium Member 2014 SLK55 AMG
1,658 Posts
De-catted ( 2nd cats ) on my SLK 55 AMG and it made zero difference to the emissions.

The MOT operator wouldn't have known how many cats were fitted to a particular car anyway!

Reinstated the system before selling and the new buyer has just put some straight throughs on the car. Sounds brutal!

·
Premium Member 2012 SLK55 AMG
2,502 Posts
Keeping the primary cats you should have no problem passing the emissions test! The secondary cats don't do a lot of work. They are there to catch anything the primaries miss whilst they are still coming up to temperature. Plenty of guys on here from the UK have done this on the 55 AMG model without issue. Some even claim to have passed an emissions test on just secondary cats after removing the primaries when fitting long tube headers. MOT testing will always be done with pre-warmed cats. Most MOT testers are ignorant to how many cats cars are supposed to have. I can't see you having an issue unless there's something in the new rules coming out this year?

·
Premium Member 2005 SLK55 AMG
11,404 Posts