Mercedes SLK World banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
230 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am getting ready to drive to the east coast and the rear tires must be replaced. I would like a year-around tire as we do get some snow and rain. The dealer is recommending Michelin PILOT SPORT A/S 3 PLUS XL BSW. They get good reviews for handling and ability to drive in rain. I read mixed reviews about noise and ride comfort. Does anyone have experience with this tire? While I am an aggressive driver, I am not looking to drive on a track. Cruising with the top down (with fast starts) is my favorite sport.

Yes, I did use the search feature and read a lot about Pilot Super Sports but very little about Pilot Sports.

Thanks! Jeff

·
Administrator 2009 SLK 55 AMG/Founding member 2006
94,122 Posts

·
Premium Member 2012 SLK AMG
3,288 Posts
I ran PS3s on my Impreza and they seemed to give great grip in the dry, wet and even snow. The ride quality was good and they were quiet enough.
I changed them after 23 months and they were driven hard throughout the 2 summers with the occasional hill climb sprint thrown in for good measure so not a bad tyre at all.

·
Premium Member
964 Posts
Have not had the 3rd version but compared to the 2nd the conti extreme contact dws behave and wear better.
I second this post. In fact, I just ordered a replacement Conti DWS06 rear tires which are going to be put on this weekend. My current set is the same tires, and they have worn well after >22K miles. The tires are excellent in dry and especially wet roads. They are decent in light snow and give you above average A/S sporty rides through all weather conditions. I strongly recommend them.

·
Premium Member
230 Posts
Discussion Starter #7