Mercedes SLK World banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this months Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
*Registered
2007 SLK350 "Barbee"
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here on the forum. Just purchased an 07 SLK350 and sometimes when I put the key fob in the slot and turn it the dash lights up but I get nothing else - starter doesn't engage, no sound, etc. I usually pull the fob out and then reinsert it in the key slot and turn it again and it will then usually start. On my Chrysler Crossfires, this is often an indication of a failed or failing crankshaft position sensor so I have ordered a new one to install. Am I on the right track, or with the SLK is there something else I should check for this issue?

·
Founding Member 2006
108,292 Posts
and your battery? how old is it?
eis is your next thing to check electronic ignition system

·
*Registered
2007 SLK350 "Barbee"
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

Not sure how old the battery is. It is an Interstate battery and from what I read the date code is supposed to be engraved in the top of the battery somewhere but I just spent 10 minutes under the hood looking at the top of the battery and took several pictures of it so I could blow it up on my computer screen and I don't find any engraving. I think the battery is OK because I have one of those cigarette lighter USB adapters with the voltage readout. But, I put my multimeter on the battery and it reads 12.6V so I think the battery is in good shape.

Additionally, the car only came with on key fob so I ordered another one from the local Mercedes dealer and I am hoping maybe the new fob will make a difference.

Would the fact that this car has been sitting a lot have anything to do with this symptom? The car has only been driven about 3000 miles in the past 5 years and was even in non-op status for a while. It was owned by an older lady who was having health issues and finally had to give up driving.

·