Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
All,

2000 SLK 230, 5 speed. Just got it and had only driven it a few times before having to hit the road for two weeks. Home first week in February and will be going through it. I'm new to the car and am dangerous with a wrench! I can get anything apart but will be working on diagnosis and then getting it back together correctly.

I've changed the oil and replaced the oil cap and run the engine codes for the CEL. I replaced the K40 relay initially and am still getting the P1235 code. According to my reader (Blue Driver) it says it could be an issue with recirculation flap motor M16/7 wiring or to replace the supercharger. Before I go any further I have no idea when the plugs, coils, or wires were changed so can someone fill me in on what constitutes a tune up? I saw another thread recommending doing that first before anything else gets done.

What are the recommended plugs, coils, wires, and anything else I should change before I take it on the road? Air filters? Clean the MAF? Belts? Give me anything you think I should replace right up front and I'll get that done first before doing anything big.

Also, how do I check and see if the supercharger clutch is engaging?

Really looking forward to getting to know this car and fixing everything on it. If anyone wants to sound off on how to fix the ASR/BAS light I'm all ears on that as well. Thanks!

v/r
Kevin

·
Super Moderator UK 2002 SLK320 Blue
3,215 Posts
All,

2000 SLK 230, 5 speed. Just got it and had only driven it a few times before having to hit the road for two weeks. Home first week in February and will be going through it. I'm new to the car and am dangerous with a wrench! I can get anything apart but will be working on diagnosis and then getting it back together correctly.