Mercedes SLK World banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As this is my 1st post, please know I'm not here to be "that guy".

I recently brought them my wife's 05 SLK350 for an oil change & tilt motor repair. On the way in the car started running rough. I assumed it would be a coil pack or something simple. After 3 days of diagnosis, Park Place called & said I had a burnt valve and the only fix was to replace the entire cylinder head for $6k+.
As I build & maintain high performance engines for boats I know my way around OBD2 and consider myself fairly competent when it comes to internal combustion engines, so I call B.S. on the burnt valve and started in on them to explain & detail their process to reach that diagnosis. To say it was unacceptable would be an understatement.
I let them play the game for a bit then explained what it was I did for a living. I then proceded to listen to every excuse in the book by the shop foreman, his technician & the adviser. I agreed to leave the car with them so they could redeem themselves. WRONG!
Anyway, I got the car back today, still missing out & after about 30 minutes in the driveway with my CHEAP OBD2 scanner, I had it down to a misfire on #3 hole. I moved coil packs and the problem stayed. I moved injectors & the problem stayed and then I moved spark plugs & the problem followed from 3 to 2 to 1.
Why not check the plugs 1st? I was CHARGED for a set of plugs. Much to my surprise they were not new plugs in her car. I was also charged for all new coil packs.
Needless to say, I'm going back tomorrow & we're going to have a come to Jesus meeting!
Stay away from Park Place Motorcars!

·
Administrator 2009 SLK 55 AMG/Founding Member 2006
97,521 Posts
Welcome from Valrico, Florida!
And welcome to this great forum!

Please update your location/vehicle (model and year) in your profile as it helps the members answer any questions you might have based on your location and model and year.