Mercedes SLK World banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this months Ride of the Month Challenge!
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I took the car to a mechanic today and they said I need a whole new supercharger and that is the reason why my car has a check engine light is on. They quoted me $3600 for the job and a new supercharger and I'm thinking about just doing it myself because I simply just can't pay that much right now. However I have no experience really other than what I read etc. And right now Im just looking for advice on what to do at this point.

·
Registered 2016 SLC43
314 Posts
I had to remove my supercharger in order to change the oil in it as the filler bung was seized . Remove the air box completely and you can see it , it's only a few bolts and take off the belt and a few pipes .

Most difficult part is physically getting it out , it's a tight fit and takes a little wiggling about , don't be scared of doing it yourself , it's basic nuts and bolts mechanics and difficult to go wrong if you take your time and use logic , took me a couple of hours to remove and replace completely .

That said I think you would be better off going to another garage for a second opinion before you do anything .

·
Registered
80 Posts
remove

It took me about 5hrs to change my supercharger, its quite fiddly getting the thing out that took about 1/2hr then another 1/2hr getting the replacement in.It is just a few bolts. I had a loud noise on mine so I changed it, still got the loud noise,so it wasnt the supercharger..... sigh

·
Registered
156 Posts