Mercedes SLK World banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered 2006 SLK55 AMG
129 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’ve been fighting this one for 2 years but boredom got the best of me. Installed the only aftermarket intake I know if. It is very good quality and fit. It did add to the acceleration and goes well with the tune. Here’s a photo of it
IMG_0850.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Super Moderator (Canada)
2012 SLK55 AMG w/P30
15,272 Posts
Related (old) thread on this CAI:

Reactions: Avel Du

·
Registered 2005 SLK55 AMG
1,190 Posts
Looks good! Would be good to jazz up the cam covers like someone did when they replaced their gaskets. Anyone tried crackle Hammerite? I did that once on my Triumph Stag and it looked great.

Maya~Taptalk

·
129 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I actually did paint mine silver when I replaced the gaskets but I had no intention of installing the intake. In think the hammered look would be great. I need to find a way to make the secondary air pump area lol better. It ruins the look.

·
129 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
And for the record: it did increase the hp and tq. I had a 250 lb passenger and it lit up for quite a distance at launch. It didn’t quite do that prior. That’s the way I can verify it sans dyno testing.

·
Registered 2005 SLK55 AMG
1,706 Posts
And for the record: it did increase the hp and tq. I had a 250 lb passenger and it lit up for quite a distance at launch. It didn’t quite do that prior. That’s the way I can verify it sans dyno testing.

My 55 was also nailed together by Dennis Specht!

As I've noted here previously, I always get a performance boost when I change my existing o/e filters. They get changed at around 8k miles and I don't live anywhere dusty, which leads me to believe that standard, these engines are gasping a little bit....

·
129 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Can you post a few pictures of how it mounts to the MAF?