Mercedes SLK World banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
179 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Today I accidentally applied too much touch up paint on my car hood, I tried to remove it immediately by a microfiber towel but ended up making it worse, which leaved a extremely thin layer of paint around that area. Will a paint correction do the job and resolve this problem?:(

Found a reputable car detailing shop offer a 29-stage paint correction/polish service, hope this help.:(

Thanks for everyone's opinion:tu:

·
Fanatical Member-sold-->2010 SLK300
3,419 Posts
I see a few swirls in your finish so a good detail will probably make a huge difference in the overall appearance of your car. As far as the touch up paint goes, probably nothing more than a good compound followed with a wax will do the trick. Mind you I'm no expert but I have found rubbing compound corrects a lot of little things on the finish.

·
Registered
179 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I think I'm going to try the Blob Eliminator by Langka to see if I can remove the excessive touch up paint,
found a old thread from etyu concerning the same product,
will give it a try prior doing the paint correction, since the shop is 125 miles away:(

Saw many good reviews on this product, hopefully it can arrive early.
I'll post some pictures for the whole process in case other forum member might encounter the same issue:tu:

·
aka John
13,012 Posts
I'd give some TLC with a bit of rubbing compound as Steven suggested as a first step - cheap and pretty easy, just take your time and go a bit at a time...

·
Registered
449 Posts
You can clean it with solvent i don't how you call it (tiner) or the one your wife uses to clean her nail polish (nail polish remover), take a soft cotton and put on a little solvent and gently wipe the surface where the exeed layer of paint is.
Regards Greg

·
Registered
40 Posts