Mercedes SLK World banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
1,006 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Mama's Passat just turned 50k an I think she wants a vehicle a bit larger. Was lookin at a MB R diesel. Mileage sucks for a diesel but looks good and is big enuf. Anyone have info on 08 R series or experience with 06-07. Reckon can we do European delivery of an R????

·
Registered
2,189 Posts
Doug, just one wish: If you´re joining Germany YOU HAVE to visit me! About a R series I have no knowledge, only it´s very big and the 3l Diesel engine is a SLK killer.

D

·
0 Posts
Nooooo! Please don't buy an R complete waste of space.

Get her an ML or GL maybe even a G wagon all considerably more useful.

·
Founding Member
4,599 Posts
I was just going to say you can do an American Delivery, it's made in the gurd ole US of A. There's great deals on the R-class probably b/c it's not a good seller, looks too much like a Chysler Pacifica to me. :td:

·
Premium Member 2006 SLK55 AMG
3,054 Posts
I think the R class is less of a waste of space than the ML or G...those cars are too high off the ground for most drivers, and i beleive they are also less efficient?

D

·
0 Posts
They are higher off of the ground for sure, would place them equal efficiency wise especially diesels since its basically a standard engine.

The difference being the ML while not a proper off-roader can handle very rough roads (tracks almost) without much trouble and is good in all weather conditions the 164 series here not the 163, and the G is just something else thats a proper off roader you really can throw it about as much as you like its built like a tank.

Thing is with the R what is it? what purpose does it serve for instance the purpose of the SLK is immediately obvious as is the C's calling in life but when i look at an R i just cant think of any reason people would buy them.