Mercedes SLK World banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello fellow slk lovers,

I have owned my slk for 5 years, the last 2 years she has had a major leak, after rainfall or wash every time I make a right turn I can hear the water gush along my windscreen sluice channel and pour into the passenger footwell from the glove box region. ( I have her covered now and I am a fair weather driver with a dirty car!)
I have had mechanics clear the drains but it kept happening. The latest mechanic (awesome chap) took the plastic away from under the hood to reveal a rectangular hole, perfect for maybe a grill?
My questions are:
Does anyone know what should be here and maybe a part number so I can replace it?
For the first three years this didn't happen, has someone removed it because there is no broken part under the plastic cover?
I hope I have made sense and here are pictures to help you understand?

Thanks in advance,
Julz

Attachments

·
Administrator 2009 SLK 55 AMG/Founding member 2006
94,921 Posts

·
Super Moderator UK SLK 55 AMG 2007
26,110 Posts
Can't remember if the 170 is the same, but think it is.
This is for 171.

It's the air intake for the cabin.
Behind and below that hole is the fan.

You might find that the passenger footwell is damp.
Once water gets in it has nowhere to go.

There is a diy on fitting a home made grill over it to reduce the problem.

This sounds daft, but helps.
Look at how it is parked to help avoid ingress.

·
94,921 Posts
Datacard here

so you did not look up the part yourself?

Attachments

·
94,921 Posts
part 105 Myk?

A 202 835 12 40
* HOUSING
BLOWER COVERING

·
94,921 Posts
Look at post 8 above?

·
94,921 Posts
105 That looks like the bottom cover to the blower, Jeff.
The hole is the intake. 80?

The 170 gang will know if there is a screen or not.
130 is the blower
105 is above the blower

so why wouldn't 105 be the top?

·
Registered 2002 SLK320
2,011 Posts
Hi Jeff,