Mercedes SLK World banner

1 - 20 of 96 Posts

·
Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving.

I have a 2006 SLK55 AMG and recently both of my door speakers blew. I've looked in past pages but could not find any discussions on my topic.

My car is at 73,000 miles and I intend on keeping my car "forever"....I could just replace the Harmon Kardon door speakers but I'd like a better sound and system. So, I am considering placing Focal 165 KRX2 woofer/tweeter speakers in both doors and upgrading my amp to a JL audio RD900 75 W/ch or the like. I'm no expert so I am wondering if there is anything special about HK's surround sound system or it would be accomplished with any other high end speakers/amplifier in its stead.

I am not overly concerned about the Comand console being replaced but do wonder if I should consider it. I was also wondering if I should replace the other 7 speakers with appropriately sized Focal speakers or just replace the door speakers and let the JL amp drive the HK surround speaker to save money. Or maybe also the front speakers as well?

Has anyone here ever changed the speakers? Or the amplifier?

I would greatly appreciate any feedback on any such changes fellow SLK owners have done or opinions on what I am/might considering.

Thanks so much.

·
Registered
671 Posts
I replaced the Comand with a Seicane head unit and replaced the gateway with a 6 channel power amp. The subwoofers are independently wired so channel 5 & 6 feed these. Since each pair of channels can be independently adjusted by the power amp, I can set the subwoofers, front and rear to give a perfect distribution of sound. The original front speakers give good sound but I have upgraded the rear units to slightly larger. Dashboard and service menus still appear functional although I have never messed with the service menu in dyno mode.

Maya ~ Tapatalk

·
Banned
84 Posts