Mercedes SLK World banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
166 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been debating on what to do for a few months now and I've finally decided to pull the trigger. I'm going to be starting a Superlite SL-C build.. These cars are absolutely amazing and something that you get what you put into it. I could do a bare build for a track car and call it a day, but will likely spend just as much, if not more, time on the interior alone as the entire chassis setup will take me. I have been tossing around the idea of building a kit car for a while and had toyed with a Factory Five GTM, but the SL-C drew me away from it seeing as how it does not use donor parts (aside from the engine/transaxle) and has been designed from the ground up. It's less a kit car and more of a "build your own supercar"...just in a kit.

I'm heading this weekend to meet with a couple of SL-C owners to really check the cars out up close and to take test rides in. I've only seen one other one in the past and it was out at Autobahn Country Club over in Joliet, IL. Amazing vehicle, but I didn't get a chance to really pay it close attention because I was out there to drive..

Tentative plans will mate a LSx with a Ricardo transaxle and I plan on running heat/AC so the car will be "driveable" year round..though I can't see this thing getting out in the snow. A few other odds and ends will be changed from what the "base" car comes with but mostly focusing on fit and finish of the car..ie noise reduction, directing heat away from the cabin, and so fourth.