Mercedes SLK World banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since I bought my car I have notice it is a bit shaky and vibrate and just does not feel right so researched and see a lot of people have problems with steering dampers and most of them have the same problem I do ,, so is it worth changeing it and if so is it a DIY job on my drive ? I have some experience with cars as I was a professional panel beater and did loads of suspension work and exhaust work about 11 years ago

·
Registered
239 Posts
Dead easy to change, just 2 bolts, 15 minute job including jacking up the front of the car. Replacement was pretty cheap if I remember about £30. Well worth doing IMO. I could push/pull the old one by hand, totally knackered.

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Dead easy to change, just 2 bolts, 15 minute job including jacking up the front of the car. Replacement was pretty cheap if I remember about £30. Well worth doing IMO. I could push/pull the old one by hand, totally knackered.
Thanks do you or any one know what the part number is , there is two on Mercedes ome parts website

·
Registered
22 Posts
I had my steering damper replaced at the same time as all four shocks. I think I read somewhere it was good idea to replace it if doing all four shocks. I bought bilstein, same as the shocks, from Amazon. I have a 2001 SLK 230, for reference. Damper worked like a charm.

Bilstein 18-140651 22mm Monotube Steering Damper
by Bilstein
Be the first to review this item
List Price: $72.38
Price: $62.99

Product Type - Front End Components - Steering Damper
Approximate dimensions: 2" W x 2" H x 17.7" L
UPC Code: 651860598062
Alternate Lookup Numbers: Bilstein # 18140651 B22-E065

·
Registered
1,613 Posts
Thanks do you or any one know what the part number is , there is two on Mercedes ome parts website
The part number is A1244630432
There are different brands like Meyele, Stabilus, Lemfoerder.