Mercedes SLK World banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Hi from Leicester, England

2K views 36 replies 22 participants last post by  curro101 
I'm new to the Mercedes scene. I'm aiming to purchase an SLK in the next few months, probably a 320 but really any model with a good Mercedes service history. Not got a lot to spend so budget is tight but I'm sure there'll be a good motor out there for me if I wait long enough.

Andy
Hi and welcome Andy, I went for the 320 option and very pleased with the car had a lot of MB stamps and the last 4 years devices by independent garages but had had 4 oil changes and only done 4000 miles since last serviced by MB.

Paid just over 4k for it had a couple of small problems, AC needed regassing and the crankshaft sensor failed had another intermittent electrical fault which I tracked down when it became a total failure, ( loose main fuse ).

Averaging 25mpg, on a good run (240m) get about 37mpg and 15mpg if your right foot gets a bit heavy.

Loads on eBay at the moment some with very low miles mine had ,82k when I got it in July now 85.

Regards Stuart.
Ps don't wait too long prices jump up around march / April.

Thanks for that guys :) Not bad on the fuel figures for such a big engine. Never having owned a Mercedes I'm a bit wary of any electrical problems that may have manifested themselves over time and body issues with rust etc, but from what I've read about them they're not issues to worry about unless you buy a car with little or no history.

I take on board what you say about values rising as the weather improves.

Andy