Mercedes SLK World banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this months Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
*Registered
2012 SLK250 CDI
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
My SLK250 CDI has a faulty radar, It has a cracked radome so I opened it up and it was full of corrosion & rust .
Whilst I’m not too worried about not having adaptive cruise control, the knock on from the fault is that I get warnings at ignition and probably every 20 minutes when driving “presafe is disabled”.
I have also been given the screen shot attached below of a diagnostic tool when connected.
The radar is an A2129004603 used ones are available and so I planned to change it to rectify the fault.
Questions I have.
  • I don’t have a diagnostic tool yet is there recommended one for helping carry out this fix? (not too expensive I’m just a DIYer)
  • Is it possible to disable the Distronic plus radar and will this stop the warnings and could this restore some of the pre-safe functionality.
  • The radar doesn’t have any physical adjustments, will a replacement radar need calibration, firmware/configuration changes to the ECU or Connection to MBs cloud, that will need a trip to a local Dealership?
Your assistance would be appreciated..
Font Gadget Output device Material property Display device
 

·
*Administrator (Premium Member)
Joined
·
42,005 Posts
@VII7 Does he need DAS/Vediamo? I suspect so.
Will there be coding needed for the new unit.

Potentially handy link?
 

·
*Registered
Looking for an SLK
Joined
·
485 Posts
If the car has distronic plus, then the radar is part of the collision avoidance system, and is also part of pre-safe.

It is a required function for pre-safe to work. Without that, no pre-safe.

Replace radar and calibrate with Xentry. There is a driving portion where you have to maintain some distance from a car in front of you and let the radar calibrate itself. It needs to be activated via Xentry, Autel can do it as well.
 

·
*Premium Member
2012 SLK350
Joined
·
1,169 Posts
Yes, would recommend going to a specialist as buying the equipment just for that will not be cost efficient.

Sent from my SM-G781U using Tapatalk
 

·
*Registered
2012 SLK250 CDI
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Yes, would recommend going to a specialist as buying the equipment just for that will not be cost efficient.

Sent from my SM-G781U using Tapatalk
Thanks both, thats what I suspected, I will probably puchase a diagnostic tool, to do some checking before I let my local dealer on it and for future maintenace. Any recomendations I was considering the iCarsoft MB v1 or v2,

No luck on the remanufactured parts link for sourcing this radar, I will be looking to breakers/ebay given the new cost is not worth it given the cars value.
 

·
*Premium Member
2012 SLK350
Joined
·
1,169 Posts
You will need advanced MB diagnostic equipment to perform this function, icarsoft style products typically do not include these types of functions.

Sent from my SM-G781U using Tapatalk
 

·
*Registered
2012 SLK250 CDI
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Hi All
An update on this problem, still unresolved.
I did get a replacement radar from ebay. And took it to my local MB dealer to calibrate, three times!
First time they struggled to calibrate the radar after 5% through the process it just terminated the process, they tried lots of things including doing a full system reset.
After this first while you wait appointment they booked it in for a longer booking to see if they could fault find the issue.
At the second appointment they found a broken wire and they calibrated the radar, they handed the car back but on first drive all errors were still present (pre-safe warnings and distronic radar is disabled).
So I booked it in again - this third time they diagnosed the radar (bought off ebay) was faulty.
Now the odd thing is when connecting my Autel diadnostic tool
1. originally before MB got their hands on it, I got an fault warning from 'the' radar sensor
2. After the first appointment it finds no faults but thinks there should be 2 front radars (left and right) it also reports calibration adjustments being 'N/A'.
The question I have is could MB have reset my car to work with a different equipment configuration (using 2 distronic radars)? And given I see no faults with my cheap diagnostic tool is the centrally located radar even mapped into the ECU?
Are there any distronic experts out there who can advise on this?
My options are to get a new radar either from MB over £2000 or from the second hand market, or should I get a second opinion and shell out more money on diagnosis - any opinions?
 

·
**Premium Member 2018 SLC43
Joined
·
4,576 Posts
Distronic is quite a rare R172 option due to the cost - This is MY2015 Brochure:
Font Rectangle Parallel Number Slope


Interesting Your Data Card lists option:
233 AUTONOMOUS INT. CRUISE CONT. PLUS (DISTRONIC PLUS)
...which is a different option number from above, so perhaps there was a change between 2013 and 2015..?

If You update Your location in Your Profile, someone may be able to recommend a independent Mercedes Dealer in Your area, who may be able to cast a fresh pair of eye over the fault.
 
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
Top