Mercedes SLK World banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everybody, I live in Toronto. My wife and I recently decided to look for a used SLK, and I have done quite a bit of research in the last couple of months. This website has been invaluable - thanks and kudos to the moderators and all the other members. I found right away that I liked the 'attitude' here. What I mean by this is that all the conversation seems to be pleasant, polite, and helpful. Other automotive websites I belong to often seem to be plagued with what I would call 'macho posturing'.

We like the open air feel of a convertible. My wife really liked the idea of a hardtop, feeling that the soft ones look a little lame and would possibly leak. She had admired Mercedes' styling for many years. I didn't know much about MB, although I have had plenty of experience with Volkswagen and some with BMW. The more research I did about MB the more convinced I was that this might be good for us. I am retired now and she will be retired in less than a year. We would like to tour around North America. We are hoping the back of the car is not too low to accomodate a trailer hitch, as we want to bring our bicycles with us.

I have started my profile with a SLK 350, since that is what we have been looking at lately. I have learned about the balance shaft issue thanks to this website, so we will probably look at 2009 and later versions.

Thanks again to everybody for their contributions.

·
Administrator - Founding Member since 2006
94,091 Posts
Welcome to SLKWorld.com: The #1 Mercedes-Benz SLK Forum from Valrico, Florida!

owner's and maintenance manuals great R171 info:

later year owner's/maintenance/comand manuals, top right in the link below:
Bill's Den: Documents

your brochure:
Mercedes Brochure Archive

mods you should do:
smarttop

http://www.slkworld.com/general-discussion/121481-what-smarttop-all-members-keep-talking-about.html

clear or tinted side markers