Mercedes SLK World banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello ladies,
I am new to the convertible world. I think I need to start expanding my wardrobe with a new SLK purchase J

I wonder what hats/styles do you wear aside from a baseball cap? I have no problem wearing a baseball cap when dressed casual (jeans, etc.) but during weekdays I am dressed very formal wearing suites, dresses, skirts, etc. Baseball cap would look out of place with a formal attire. There is always an option to drive hatless but I have two problems with it. First, the sun in Alberta can be very strong in summer and second, somewhat reduced visibility due to the glare from the sun. So, it is nice to wear something to shade the eyes and the face from the sun. Is there any special sunglasses that can completely cover the eyes?

·
Super Moderator 2010 SLK300 2LOOK
14,930 Posts
Scarves seem to work the best when dressed up. I have a whole slew of them in all colors. Not only do they keep the hair in check they look classy, too. As Der Flieger would say "the Grace Kelly look".

Large brimmed hats are good for keeping the sun off your face, but when you catch a breeze (and it's going to happen with the top down), it's gone in a flash.

As far as sunglasses go, you'll still have the sun glaring down behind any lenses...I find a little squinting is worth it to go topless!

·
Fanatical Member-sold-->2010 SLK300
3,419 Posts
The nice thing about California is no matter what, it's always casual :). We have a saying....."No ties outside of San Francisco"!

Anyway, I don't do well with hats. I still have a good head of hear (just about the only thing good left) coupled with a fairly large head and hats after wearing a hat my hair looks sort of "molded" into the shape of it.....lol....and NO, I don't use gel or any of that kind of stuff.

I find a visor (similar to what you wear when playing tennis) works best for me and stays put at speeds of 80 or more. :burnout:

·