Mercedes SLK World banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered 2008 SLK280
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited by Moderator)
I have been looking for a high quality / low cost door speaker replacement. I found the Focal IS200 component speaker set on Ebay for $150 US and free shipping. It has a 1" inverted dome tweeter and an 8" driver. The 8" driver fits like a glove in the factory speaker pod with just a bit of dremel needed on the front side to accommodate the larger speaker magnet. I surface mounted the tweeters in the factory tweeter housing, the Focal Tweeters have a similar grill on them so they look almost factory. I hope this helps someone trying to locate a better sounding alternative to the OEM speakers.
IMG_0621.jpeg
IMG_0622.jpeg
IMG_0624.jpeg

·
Registered 2006 SLK55 AMG
208 Posts
Sorry for the duplicate pictures, I'm new at this.
Good stuff. I'm currently wrestling on making similar changes. If I could ask a few questions:

Did you change the midrange speaker as well? I've seen posters here place a Hertz 3" mid. in the pod.

First I've seen of a Focal 8" in the pod. I've seen mostly the Audison Prima 8 placed and was considering the same. But would prefer Focal.

Is the pod you worked with the HK pod or the Audio20 pod.

What is your amplifier situation.

Are you happy with the Focal's and the tweeters?

Thanks.

·
Administrator 2009 SLK 55 AMG/Founding Member 2006
95,095 Posts
i can't find a HK deal on focal website...that is why it was on ebay i guess

·
208 Posts
Can harman kardon be replaced with a setup like that?
I've read, I believe it was nitro28 on his 2017 set up, that said that while Audio 20 speaker pods can be cut for aftermarket speaker replacement, the HK pods are molded differently and cannot be used for aftermarket speakers. So he found Audio 20 pods on EBay to use.