Mercedes SLK World banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this months Ride of the Month Challenge!
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered 2006 SLK55 AMG
Joined
·
105 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is actually nowhere near as bad as it sounds.
I ordered a 2008 AMG cluster so that I can add to my 06 and to the TPMS mod.
Unfortunately, the cluster was DOA. The seller gave me a refund and told me to just keep the cluster.
So I have a left-over cluster and was wondering how can I fix it or what can I do with it? When I plug into the car nothing turns on, my original cluster works perfectly.
 

·
Registered 2007 SLK200
Joined
·
55 Posts
Used clusters arent plug and play. They need additional coding by erasing all the previous data in order to syncronize with the new car, but i am afraid your local MB dealer cant fix it. You might search for a car electronic specialist. There are many here in Greece who especially fix all types of ECUs, clusters, airbags, trouble codes and most of electronic parts in a car. Search it better.
 

·
Registered 2006 SLK55 AMG
Joined
·
105 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I had a buddy with SDS and it wouldn't pick it up at all on the system...simply dead. No lights came on or anything. So it's not a matter of incorrect car and needs to be updated by SDS.
Unfortunately, repairs here for this type of thing can range in the $2-300. I might just bring it to Greece with me next time.
 

·
*DAS/STAR Premium Member
2005 SLK55 AMG
Joined
·
4,038 Posts
Not much you can do with a dead one ..

It's a single PCB with all of the electronics onboard

You can re-use the housing, dials, needles , stepper motors, upper and lower displays (handly to keep should you develop the dreaded "Pink Shrimp" ...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
46 Posts
Dead Cluster

Hey Thrilos81,
I am in San Francisco, where are you in the Bay? Have you found a new cluster? I have sourced one with 44k miles on it in perfect condition and the seller wants 450.00 shipped. I can't PM you because I don't have enough post, but PM me and I will try to reply with the seller info for you if you still need a cluster.


The reason I was looking for a cluster is due to having a bad MFD display (top) and could use your dead cluster for that part. My only concern is if it was dead on arrive the top MFD display may also be bad. Let me know if your interested in getting rid of it or if your interested in the cluster I found.
 

·
Founding Member 2006
Joined
·
108,819 Posts
Hopefully he pm's you with his email address

but the great thing to do would be to go welcome 2 members like you were welcomed to get to the required 15 posts not only to be able to pm others but also to edit your posts.
after you get to 15 posts, you still need to wait until the system updates/refreshes your status to pm.

If you wish to become PM (Private Message) capable, you need 15 posts. To get those 15 posts quickly, just go to the ‘New members introduce yourself here’ section and welcome enough new members to obtain your needed posts to PM. You can always pm a moderator.
 
1 - 6 of 6 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top