Mercedes SLK World banner

201 - 220 of 237 Posts

·
Registered Looking for an SLK
Joined
·
4 Posts
Hi
For slk 200 this will not work...you need sd connect c4, send me a private message for more info.
Do you know if the new VAS6154 WIFI ODIS 5.1.6 units works with DAS/Xentry as well? Looks to be backwards compatible with VAS 5054A and might be faster. Better drivers for Windows 10 natively as well apparently. Anyone's thoughts on this? Thanks
 

·
Registered Looking for an SLK
Joined
·
4 Posts
Thanks for your hard work! I'm relatively new to this. Can you please let me know what interface devices Xentry openshell will work best with? Is the openshell version better for 3rd party cheaper interface devices or can Pass Thru work just as well? Mainly for Diagnostics on newer model SLK and W221 S class. Thanks.
 

·
Premium Member 2004 SLK350
Joined
·
5,029 Posts
Discussion Starter #205
Today I had a chance to diagnose an sl500 ( same engine ECU like slk r171 55 amg )
With my sd connect c4 all modules are accessible first pic

With vas only those modules are accessible 2nd pic ( also the modules with ! are not accessible )
 

Attachments

·
Premium Member 2005 SLK350
Joined
·
2,452 Posts
Today I had a chance to diagnose an sl500 ( same engine ECU like slk r171 55 amg )
With my sd connect c4 all modules are accessible first pic

With vas only those modules are accessible 2nd pic ( also the modules with ! are not accessible )
That's a big difference in limitation of the VAS module.
 

·
Super Moderator
2002 Blue SLK320 known as 'Silkie"
Joined
·
3,522 Posts
@regulus - Welcome to SLKWorld. Thanks for updating your details and posting an intro.
 

·
Premium Member 2010 SLK350
Joined
·
36 Posts
Hello everyone. I've read this entire thread, and needless to say my head is exploding from all the info! o_Oo_Oo_O.
I'd like to recap/validate items I need to make one of these diagnostic systems. First of all, I own a 2010 SLK 350 R171.

What laptops would you recommend? To me is looks like the Panasonic Toughbooks and Dell E6420 XFR are good options. Any thoughts on these?

Windows - I seen different suggestions on for this system, both Windows 7 and 10. I've seen that both 32/64 bit.

One of these: Top Quality OKI Chip VAS 5054A ODIS V5.1.3 Keygen Bluetooth V4.0 VAS5054A Full Chip VAS5054 UDS For VAG Diagnostic Tool (Blue PCB) (The ad shows this one is for Windows 7 32/64

Of course last is Xentry - I believe I read somewhere that the versions before 9/2019 can be used offline.

I know this is probably redundant, but I'd like to get is right the first time. 😁😁😁

I've seen that many people have saved $$ by being able to using this system. My mechanic just told me that Mercedes wants $ 1,500 just ignition switch! OUCH! I'm trying to keep from being completely hosed!

Thonk you all in advance!

Julian
 

·
Premium Member 2010 SLK350
Joined
·
36 Posts
Hello again everyone - I finally got this "mux" from China and had Xentry installed, and thought I'd check my car. When I plugged in the mux, it began to beep and the led light at the bottom was flashing blue. I thought this was an indicator that all was well then I fired up Xentry. Everything was going well until I got the possible error messages for the mux.
1. link between the mux & socket was interruped.
2. link bwtween mux & diagnostic unit is interupted
3. Voltage supply at diag socket (circuit 30 or 31) is faulty.

I know that the mux is securely fitted, and I tried twice to see if I'd get the same error message. This is a total bummer. Does anyone have any suggestions on this?

Thanks!
 

·
Premium Member 2004 SLK350
Joined
·
5,029 Posts
Discussion Starter #219
Hello again everyone - I finally got this "mux" from China and had Xentry installed, and thought I'd check my car. When I plugged in the mux, it began to beep and the led light at the bottom was flashing blue. I thought this was an indicator that all was well then I fired up Xentry. Everything was going well until I got the possible error messages for the mux.
1. link between the mux & socket was interruped.
2. link bwtween mux & diagnostic unit is interupted
3. Voltage supply at diag socket (circuit 30 or 31) is faulty.

I know that the mux is securely fitted, and I tried twice to see if I'd get the same error message. This is a total bummer. Does anyone have any suggestions on this?

Thanks!
All working now. I always use the USB cable, managed to make mine work on BT but is to slow i gave up.
 

·
Premium Member 2010 SLK350
Joined
·
36 Posts
Again another shout out to @i860 - I really can't thank you enough for your time helping me with this! Also yes, USB is definitely the way to go.
 
201 - 220 of 237 Posts
Top