Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi,

I'm still quite new to driving a SLk and I wonder what is the best practice on checking the engine oil level.

Do I wait for the warning message to come up on the display ( I read in the manual there are two messages , one to inform the driver that oil level is low and one when it's critically low) or is it best to check the oil using the dipstick if so, how frequently would I need to do that.

If someone could also recommend a decent Engine Oil .My previous motor had Shell Synthetic w10/40 if I'm not mistaking, can I use the same oil ?

Phil

·
Registered
5,134 Posts
If you have only recently purchased your SLK, then you should check the oil everytime you put fuel in the car. It helps to know how much oil the engine is using and at what rate. Once you understand that, it helps to set the frequency. I check mine when I wash the car. It's part of my weekly underbonnet checks, take virtually no time to do.

In the 350 I think there is about 8 litres of oil in the sump, so being short by the odd litre is unlikely to be a problem. On the other hand do not over-fill, can cause damage. My own preference is to have the oil level just below the top mark. I wouldn't recommend waiting for the light on the dashboard to tell you the oil level is low, definately dip it.

Only use fully synthetic oils that comply with MB 229.5 (check your manual to be sure). Mobil 1 or Shell Helix Ultra 5W 40 would be my choice.

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for sharing this with me.

Does someone know when the actual warning light does come on?

·
Sadly Gregg has passed away
2,432 Posts