Mercedes SLK World banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Premium Member 2004 SLK32 AMG
5,184 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My brother has background in racing. He insists that you can take a 6 speed manual from a crossfire and put it in my slk32 amg. Think I would love it as a six. But it can't be that simple. Anybody done this?

·
Premium Member 2006 SLK 280-sold
3,552 Posts
The R170 and the Crossfire share the same platform, brought about by the Daimler Chrysler merger. Therefore theoretically your brother is correct. That said, I have no experience with such a retrofit, and I'm sure that there would be some other issues that you would have to deal with. Regardless, if you head down this road take lots of pics !

Best Wishes,

·
Air Suspension Manager
631 Posts
When I had a VW Golf MK IV I have read a lot of information about transmission and engine swapping.
On VW platforms all V4 engine and transmissions where interchangeable with a V4 engine and transmission and all V6 were interchangeable with V6 parts.

If engine and transmission is compatible generally what you need to do is replace the transmission, wiring, Shifting mechanism, gear knob and some codding. You might guess this needs a lot of detailed work and you shouldn't let touch anyone who doesn't what he is doing and has the right coding tools for the job.

If I were you I would search for SLK32 transmission swapping.

·
Super Moderator 2010 SLK300 2LOOK
14,238 Posts

·
Registered
159 Posts
Will a 6 speed manual that was designed for 215 hp be able to handle a 150 HP increase? Will the clutch? I'm Curious also.

·
5,184 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
On the data card explanation..I found a guide on the R170 forum that explains the codes. You may search on the forum for you sons car.

On the horsepower issue, I will have to do a LOT of research before I even consider the change. Haven't had time to talk with my MB mechanic yet. Plus....I willhave to convince my wife.....that may be the biggest issue.

·