Mercedes SLK World banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I'm new to this and a proud(ish) new owner of a 2004 230 SLK bought from a second hand car dealer in London, England.

Forgive me in advance if I'm posting in the wrong place or if theres an active thread on this issue. I've had a browse but may have missed it.

Anyway, 10 minutes after leaving the dealer , my friend and I noticed a little noise coming from the engine. To cut a long story short and 4 experienced mechanics opinions later, my cam adjuster needs replacing. I have been quoted around £1000. Does anyone know a reliable garage/mechanic who can do this cheaper for me? I love the car and want to keep it but if this is the price I will very reluctantly have to let it go (and take a rather large hit). Dealer is not playing ball with me and looks like this is the next logical step.

I really would appreciate any and all suggestions/help that lead to me finding an affordable option to restore to former glory. Thanks all for your time!

·
Administrator - Founding Member since 2006
93,476 Posts
Welcome to SLKWorld.com: The #1 Mercedes-Benz SLK Forum from Valrico, Florida!

Please update your location/vehicle (model and year) in your profile as it helps the members answer your questions which usually are based on that information.
‘Usercp’ at the top left of page, then ‘edit your details’ on the left side, ‘additional information’ near the bottom, edit your ‘location’ and ‘vehicle’.

Some tips to make your visit here more enjoyable:
If you haven’t, please use the 'search' feature at the top right of the page for your questions as they have probably been asked before. Remember, ‘Search’ is your friend.
In addition, if you haven’t, please post your question in the appropriate discussion forum for a quicker response and only once. Be patient and a knowledgeable member will address your question.