Mercedes SLK World banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
435 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi friends,
I have a little dilemma and I would like some opinions from you guys.
Here's the deal,,, I bought a set of pads and now after looking at the ones on the car, I can see there is about 40% left on them, so now I have to decide if I should leave them on for another year or two, or change them now.
Also,, if I change the pads and leave the old rotors on will that be ok,, or should I change pads and rotors. Or just leave it all alone and go have a beer.
I really impressed with the stoping power of the set on the car right now.

What would you do?
Please respond.
G
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
205 Posts
Leave it all alone and go and have a beer!

When the pads are due to be changed you may need discs as well so change the set then.
Just my twopenneth.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,027 Posts
At 40% I would leave them alone. Scotty Kilmer on you tube says you have to change the rotors because they wear and a lip or ridge fiorms around the edge and causes noise when new pads are installed. I don't know it that's the gospel or not, I'm sure some of these fine folks will have their say and I will be all ears (eyes).
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
435 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
At 40% I would leave them alone. Scotty Kilmer on you tube says you have to change the rotors because they wear and a lip or ridge fiorms around the edge and causes noise when new pads are installed. I don't know it that's the gospel or not, I'm sure some of these fine folks will have their say and I will be all ears (eyes).
Yes I noticed a ridge on the rotor when I inspected them,, and thought to myself,
Is that going to come in contact with the new pads? I can't tell, but it's not worth the chance. Right now I'm leaning to not doing anything until they really need to be changed due to wear.
So now all I have to do is change the center link check the hubs for movement and put the new wheels and tires on. I have the new hubs already, if needed.
Thanks,
G
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
435 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I recently changed all four pads to ceramic pads because of the break dust. I left the rotors on. No squeaks.
Good to know.

The disks were smooth and didn't have any ridges on the surface, just the outer edge. But I'm still going to leave well enough alone.
I still may have to change the hubs if there is any movement in them after I replace the center link.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,027 Posts
I've done dozens of brake jobs but never MB. My rotors have the ridge and out of prudence I bought rotors too. I have actually toyed with the idea of taking the old rotors and putting the grinding wheel to them to take off that ridge. I know it sounds crude but hey I could save a few bucks. I don't have time to play with, or I would just slap the new pads on and see what I end up with.
 

·
Founding Member #2 2008 SLK55 AMG
Joined
·
19,407 Posts
There are wear indicators for the brake pads (although I am not familiar with R170), change them only when the indicators say so.
As for the brake discs/rotors: only a proper measurement with calibrated caliper and comparing them to the specs from MB will tell you whether they need replacement.

Commonly it takes 2 brake pad changes before the discs have worn down enough for replacement.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,027 Posts
I bought new sensors also. I will use this oppurtunity to ask if when I change them, it will cause the system to throw a code. I wonder if I can disconnect the battery to avoid that, and I think perhaps the best answer is yes, to disconnect the battery anyway. After all it can't hurt.
 

·
Founding Member #2 2008 SLK55 AMG
Joined
·
19,407 Posts
I bought new sensors also. I will use this oppurtunity to ask if when I change them, it will cause the system to throw a code. I wonder if I can disconnect the battery to avoid that, and I think perhaps the best answer is yes, to disconnect the battery anyway. After all it can't hurt.
I only had the brake pads changed/replaced once (together with new brake calipers and brake discs) and that was when I "retrofitted" the brakes from the 2008 model year (when MB changed from 6-pot fronts to 4 pot on the SLK55) to the 2007 standard. The technician (and MB recommends this) always replace the brake sensors when pads are changed. I do not believe that doing so (replacing the brake sensors while replacing brake pads) will throw any error codes.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
435 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
I bought new sensors also. I will use this oppurtunity to ask if when I change them, it will cause the system to throw a code. I wonder if I can disconnect the battery to avoid that, and I think perhaps the best answer is yes, to disconnect the battery anyway. After all it can't hurt.
Hi Roxie,
Won't disconnecting the battery throw a code also.?
I've watched a lot of videos about changing pads and never seen anyone disconnect the battery. Even on SLKs.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,027 Posts
Hi Roxie,
Won't disconnecting the battery throw a code also.?
I've watched a lot of videos about changing pads and never seen anyone disconnect the battery. Even on SLKs.
I don't think so. I don't have any way to read codes but I'm ASSUMING that if my display reads "No Malfunctions" then no codes are stored. If you'd like, read the thread "Smart Top does not work with remote start". During that hell storm I had many error messages pop up suddenly and without good reason. Also during that time I disconnected the battery several times. Now things are back to 'normal', with "No Malfunctions". I have no idea whether the ECU has stored all those codes (errors) or not. I would think not.
 

·
Premium Member 2013 SLK250
Joined
·
2,443 Posts
I think you will find that there is only one sensor and it is on the right front wheel. It is a simple sensor has when the pads wear down a metal tip on the sensor touches the rotor and make a ground and the dash light will turn on. When my pads wore down the light would only come on if I did a hard brake and then go out when I let off the brakes. No code.
 

·
Registered 2016 SLK300
Joined
·
16 Posts
Unbelievable the responses I am reading here....It doesnt matter whether is a Mercedes or a Toyota, the disc always gets a ridge around the area that doesnt come in contact with the pad. Years ago, you would put it on a lathe and cut it down. You would never put new pads on a car without turning the rotors. But nowaday, the rotors are made differently, with out a bearing/race seat to fit over the spindle. The rotors are easy to pop off and replace without messing with the wheel bearings. So it is cheaper as well to replace (standard types). No one will turn these new type of rotors either, not worth the time. Dont be cheap, just replace them. End of story.
 
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
Top