Mercedes SLK World banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an completely stock '05 '55. I'm currently running Michelin Pilot Super Sport tires in the OEM sizes (225/40 front, 245/35 rear) with the original 16 spoke AMG wheels (7.5 front, 8.5 rear), and I'd like to get some more traction without investing in new wheels.

Can I go to 255/35 rear tires? According to Michelin these would be 25.0" diameter versus the 25.1" diameter tires on the front axle.

I assume I can't use 265/35 as Michelin says the minimum rim width is 9.0.

Thanks in advance for your help.

·
Administrator 2009 SLK 55 AMG/Founding Member 2006
97,272 Posts
I have been running 255/35 for 7 years :D
I know one member at least running 265s/35. I wouldn't though

·
97,272 Posts
Jeff, any noticeable difference in handling or ride quality? Thanks.
Been so long I don't remember but with a little more surface area it is always going to feel better. Plus it looooks go good!!

·
97,272 Posts
I've heard from many sources that the max size recommended by MB for the SLK was 255. Also the 265 might rub the 'pigsears' so you might have to remove em.

·
97,272 Posts

·
Registered 2006 SLK55 AMG
463 Posts
Posting a little late here but...

I'm running 275-30zr19 on the rear myself. But I have to tell you that the rims are a custom offset 9.5x19's from Asanti.

After seeing the tire specs on the Kleeman SKL55s8,
2005 Kleemann SLK S8 - Supercars
I figured if they can get them to fit, so can I.

I have maybe 10mm clearance between the back side of the tire and the fender well and on the outside, the tire just barely tucks under the fender well with my B12 kit drop. No way anything wider would fit.

And the best part, no scraping.

·
Premium Member 2005 SLK55 AMG
11,405 Posts
Posting a little late here but...

I'm running 275-30zr19 on the rear myself. But I have to tell you that the rims are a custom offset 9.5x19's from Asanti.