Mercedes SLK World banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Premium Member
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi SLK World,

I've been pointed in this direction a few times, mostly after bashing silly questions and keywords into Google... so I figured I might as well sign up.

I recently bought a clean 04 SLK 230 Kompressor, only just broken in at 30k miles.
Prior to this I've been a mostly underwhelmed 4x4 driver. Lugging around unnecessary weight in what now feels like a flying sofa had gotten pretty stale.

A friend of mine recently purchased a Chrysler Crossfire and was kind enough to let me have my way with it for a short time. Impressive as it is I didn't resonate with the Crossfire and thought it had a few too many freaky lines in it... though it did turn me on to the idea of buying a hard drop-top 2 seater.
My only absolute motoring requirement is an autobox, after clumsily leaving one of my legs behind on a lads holiday in the middle east and consequently losing my manual license.
Regrettable, however rolling with the punches still left me with lots of great automatic options.

After some research I discovered that the Crossfire is built on R170 donor engineering. I checked out a couple of R170 and R171 examples and quickly learned to love the series as a whole. It has everything I like in a roadster but without my personal turn-offs present on the other current offerings; Z4's, MX5 and so on.
I look forward to talking with members here and picking your brains.

Anyway, this is my car. I've made some shameless changes and and plan on making more serious upgrades once I get to know the vehicle. Right now however I'm just gonna enjoy it.

Thanks for having me,

Chris

Attachments

·
Administrator 2009 SLK 55 AMG/Founding member 2006
94,122 Posts
Welcome to SLKWorld.com: The #1 Mercedes-Benz SLK Forum from Florida!

Some tips to make your visit here more enjoyable: