Mercedes SLK World banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
469 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
When I was ordering my head unit I searched the forum for a long time trying to find if someone had used the factory microphone with an aftermarket unit and I did not find anyone who had.

The first thing you want to do is remove the A-Pillar on the left side. http://www.slkworld.com/171272-post2.html

Under there you will find two bundles of wire. One bundle looks like nylon rope and within that bundle you will find a black wire that is thicker than the others. Inside that black wire is a white wire and a wire shield. These will connect to the white wire and shielding wire of your microphone wire from your radio.

Does that make sense? I can try to get photos if you are interested.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
469 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Here are some pictures.

The grouping the microphone wire is in


The microphone wire. The shielding and white wire come out of the thicker black wire.


Soldered and shrink wrapped.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Are those wires going all the way to the original wiring harness of the NTG2.5? It looks like there are two wires going to two microphones according to the pinout. The original pins are
1 Microphone 1 IN+
2 Microphone 2 IN+
3 Microphone shield
4 ~ 6
7 Antenna Power (+12V Output)
8
9 Microphone ground
10 ~ 12

Could I just rewire those with the aftermarket harness instead?
 

·
Administrator 2009 SLK 55 AMG/Founding member 2006
Joined
·
94,243 Posts
Are those wires going all the way to the original wiring harness of the NTG2.5? It looks like there are two wires going to two microphones according to the pinout. The original pins are
1 Microphone 1 IN+
2 Microphone 2 IN+
3 Microphone shield
4 ~ 6
7 Antenna Power (+12V Output)
8
9 Microphone ground
10 ~ 12

Could I just rewire those with the aftermarket harness instead?
Welcome to SLKWorld.com: The #1 Mercedes-Benz SLK Forum from Florida!

First please update your location and vehicle (Put Looking!)(year?: 1996-2018, model?: 32, 43, 200, 230, 250, 280, 300,320,350,55) in your profile as it helps the members answer your questions which usually are based on that information if you haven’t. This takes about 30 seconds to do.
Follow exactly to update: ‘Usercp’ at the top of page, then ‘edit your details’ on the left side, ‘additional information’ near the bottom, edit your ‘location’ and ‘vehicle’. Info in your garage does not update your profile.

Join the gang! Your 1st thread should be your introduction so we can welcome you properly so post an introduction in the ‘New members introduce yourself here’ section. New Members Introduce Yourself Here - Mercedes Benz SLK Forum

On a smartphone: http://www.slkworld.com/new-members-introduce-yourself-here/330737-how-update-your-profile-post-intro-smartphone.html


If you haven’t, please use the 'search' feature at the top right of the page for your questions as they have probably been asked before. Remember, ‘Search’ is your friend.
If you wish to become PM (Private Message) capable or to ‘edit’, you need 15 posts. To get those 15 posts quickly, just go to the ‘New members introduce yourself here’ section and welcome enough new members to obtain your needed posts to PM/edit. You can always pm a moderator.
Want to post a picture? Start a new thread or make a post, click ‘edit’, click on the ‘paper clip’ or ‘advanced’ and/or ‘manage attachments’ then ‘choose file’ then ‘upload’ and ‘submit’! If Iphone pics, you need to rename any additional pics as Iphone names its pics all the same, image.jpg.
Want to ‘like’ or thank’ someone’s comments? Use the ‘like’ button to the right or the ‘Thanks’ button, bottom right of any post you like. This saves you having to comment.
New members should be aware that the 'New Posts' link next to the 'Search' link top right of the info bar is a great way to see all of the posts you have missed since you were on the forum last. Remember to click 'mark forums read' under ‘quick links’ when you leave.
FREE!! Post your vin in the Vehicle Datacard Request section to get a free datacard (options on your car). You must update your profile with vehicle info and your location and post an introduction first.
http://www.slkworld.com/vehicle-data-card/67706-free-how-get-free-datacard.html

Thank you
Jeff
Moderator/Founding Member/Ride of the Month Coordinator
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
52 Posts
Just curious, how did you figure this out? I tried to do a similar mod yesterday, tapping directly to the two wires from the mic, but people couldn't hear me in my test phone calls. Is this essentially the same thing? Maybe my connections or microphone are bad.

From what I've read elsewhere, the impedence of the factory mic is different than most after market mics.
 

·
Administrator 2009 SLK 55 AMG/Founding member 2006
Joined
·
94,243 Posts
Just curious, how did you figure this out? I tried to do a similar mod yesterday, tapping directly to the two wires from the mic, but people couldn't hear me in my test phone calls. Is this essentially the same thing? Maybe my connections or microphone are bad.

From what I've read elsewhere, the impedence of the factory mic is different than most after market mics.
who are you asking your question of?

please use the 'quote' button at the bottom of any post you wish to reply to or reference or ask a question of

fyi, op ichris has not been back on since
Last Activity: 04-24-2017
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
52 Posts
who are you asking your question of?

please use the 'quote' button at the bottom of any post you wish to reply to or reference or ask a question of

fyi, op ichris has not been back on since
Last Activity: 04-24-2017
Ah, I was asking ichris, but really anyone who can answer the question. How is this different than connecting to the two wires from the OEM mic directly?

Has anyone else done this mod? Happy with the call quality vs an aftermarket mic?
 

·
Administrator 2009 SLK 55 AMG/Founding member 2006
Joined
·
94,243 Posts
You might, just might, want to start a new thread with your issue with any additional info
this thread was started in 2015
some members have their view set up with oldest last so as to not venture into old threads

Some experts might venture in :D
 

·
Premium Member 2001 SLK320
Joined
·
1,032 Posts
There are several sorts of mics, dynamic and condensor, either can be with or without a preamplifier in the mic.
Get this bit wrong and there will not be a happy result. Getting the wiring wrong can damage mic or more than that.
They have different characteristics, Dynamic mics can be preferred in light aircraft where the mic is close to the person as it is very good at removing background noise. A mic for a convertible might be quite different to that in a sedan due to wind buffet issues.
Older radios will be designed for a particular type of mic. Some modern ones are electronically switchable in aircraft but probably not in car systems.
First job is to figure out what the original mic was, then what you have.
I don’t know much about mics, but I know it’s best to find someone who really knows about mics.
Don’t assume you’ll find that person in a music store. An aircraft radio repair workshop maybe a place to start.

3 wires? Signal, positive, and ground? Mic wires can be really really tiny and hard to solder or join in a robust way.

If you have a new head unit, why not just use the mic that goes with it, but mount it into the place in the int.lamp assembly where the old one goes? Running the lead is easy. Then it’s plug-n-play.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
25 Posts
What did you ever figure out, was your mic bad? I have been looking to do the same thing and was glad to see this thread. I was going to run the new mic wire up to the stock mic, but if it does not work I will not go thru the trouble.
 

·
Administrator 2009 SLK 55 AMG/Founding member 2006
Joined
·
94,243 Posts
What did you ever figure out, was your mic bad? I have been looking to do the same thing and was glad to see this thread. I was going to run the new mic wire up to the stock mic, but if it does not work I will not go thru the trouble.
tip 4 u!

Use the 'quote' button so we know who you are asking or replying to or referencing.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
25 Posts
Thanks, did the stock mic work with your head unit. I have read conflicting information about the compatibility of newer units with the old stock microphones
 
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
Top