Mercedes SLK World banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi again guys i must be cursed as i went and bought a icarsoft i980 today i couldnt wait because i needed to reset my srs light but soon found out that it doesnt reset it nor does it break into the roof system so im no better off afterall, but after scanning my lovely car i was annoyed to say the least that i have more wrong with it than i ever imagined but i will stick with it as long as i have you guys to help me now this is what i found.
1. p2300 coil A

2. p2311 coil D

3. P2312 coil E? i only have 4 cylinders?

4. p2404 evap leak

5. p2600 under voltage curcuit 87 (what is curcuit?87?) (coolant pump)

now as i bought this bloody thing in good faith and that i knew nothing about these cars i took a chance as the guy was really nice (haha NOT) i am now hoping that together with your help as your knowledge is far better than mine that i may be able to solve these issues with minimal stress PLEASE HELP ME!! And sorry jeff you must be getting tired of me lol:crying::crying:
 

·
Administrator 2009 SLK 55 AMG/Founding Member 2006
Joined
·
98,513 Posts
Never get tired of you

certain things can be noted on the codes but only certain things can be reset by the reader
for the others, to the shop or to someone with STAR/DAS
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
nobody knew if the i980 worked on the roof system but the point of these forums is so people can tell you your issues isnt it? and going back to my post, my engine runs fine i dont have any misfires so the coil codes really make no sense and the fact i only have 4 cylinders where is coil E? SOMEBODY MUST KNOW SURELY? now ive got to buy a srs reset tool. or an emulator.
 

·
Administrator 2009 SLK 55 AMG/Founding Member 2006
Joined
·
98,513 Posts
well, first off, were those 'stored' codes? they might have never been reset after having the car serviced by previous owner

2nd or B. you only posted your question 3 hours ago.
I might live here but the 'experts' have a life and will check in when they have time :D

C or 3. A code on a cylinder non existant might be the CPS crank position sensor acting up
 

·
Premium Member 2005 SLK55 AMG; 2005 SLK350
Joined
·
5,152 Posts
Nah, I don't have a life either :(

I'd be surprised if the iCarsoft can't do what you want to do. The roof is controlled by the "Combination Control Module" a.k.a. "Multi-function Control Unit". Does iCarsoft not see this?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
hi jeff i had over 20 stored codes which deleted because of the alternator problem, which is why it was replaced, but these 5 codes are live codes that will not go away no matter how many times i try to delete. the codes arent cylinder codes, they are coil pack codes but like i said the engine runs fine. oh and sorry i thought you were an expert because you live here, i certainly got and get that feeling.
 

·
Administrator 2009 SLK 55 AMG/Founding Member 2006
Joined
·
98,513 Posts
I'm not an expert but I did stay at a Holiday Inn express last night

 

·
Registered
Joined
·
89 Posts
I've just bought the icarsoft MB ll diagnostic tool and plugged it into the car today just for a play even though I haven't got any faults on the car.

It reads every system on the car including the Vario roof system in mind boggling detail.
It will show any fault codes, and can clear them. But obviously if the fault still exists it will flag up again.
It will also reset the service reminder on the dash.
And it comes with lifetime software updates.

I got it for £150.00 after my offer was accepted on eBay.

Look at this on eBay http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/272126185867
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
no mate it doesnt see things like that it works just like those cheap testers do but give you a little more info, i thought it did more than that and theres loads of people on ebay selling these saying they reset srs light thats why i bought it but it dont do that either its more or less useless for the slk wish i hadnt of bought it now.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
89 Posts
My one seems to see everything, I've had a good play with it today.
I have the latest version which is called the icarsoft MB ll.
Just click on the eBay link in my last post and you will see it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
no i didnt buy it through ebay i bought it through a private dealer who doesnt do returns its my fault i shouldnt of been so impatient il check icarsoft to see if there are any updates that will help me move forward i am surprised by it because i thought you could turn things on and off with it but its not as good as i thought as the menu for the r170 is quite sparse compared to other models on it. As for the original post can anyone shed any light on these codes and where is the 5th coil? or coil E?
 

·
Registered 1997 SLK230
Joined
·
271 Posts
Without wishing to state the obvious remember you won't be able to clear a code if the fault is still present.
Are you100% sure the code isn't correctly advising of of a still present fault?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
866 Posts
no i didnt buy it through ebay i bought it through a private dealer who doesnt do returns its my fault i shouldnt of been so impatient il check icarsoft to see if there are any updates that will help me move forward i am surprised by it because i thought you could turn things on and off with it but its not as good as i thought as the menu for the r170 is quite sparse compared to other models on it. As for the original post can anyone shed any light on these codes and where is the 5th coil? or coil E?
Did you update the 980i yet? You may have old version but you should be able to update to new. I was looking at the 980i II but after much research and debate I learned that it doesn't do as much as I would want. Although twice the price I opted for this one instead, will do everything but program ECU and keys: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00YXOU8QK?th=1

As for your question: The spark plugs, coils and wires for the SLK230 are all located on the top of the engine under a vanity plate. Remove the three bolts holding the plate to the valve cover with a 5mm Allen.
With the plate out of the way you can see the coils, wires and plugs. Two of the plugs are connected directly to the two coils and two plugs have individual wires running to them. There is a rubber grommet at the rear of the cover that helps seal out the elements from the coils along with plastic harness guides to keep the wires in place: http://www.benzworld.org/forums/r170-slk-class/1280892-ignition-coil-replacement.html
You only have two coils so, something is seriously wrong with your reader. I wouldn't even rely on that thing to help you at this point. Best to just to get codes read by another scanner (mechanic shop) and go from there.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
i tried to update it but it wont work on windows 10. which is a pain i did try just now but the update does'nt seem to finish like its stuck on the update page i gave 25 mins but nothing.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
866 Posts
i tried to update it but it wont work on windows 10. which is a pain i did try just now but the update does'nt seem to finish like its stuck on the update page i gave 25 mins but nothing.
Ya I haven't read to many good reviews about the updating process, some have even stated that it takes forever or doesn't work on windows 10. Maybe try iCarsoft's customer service, supposedly it is up to par but may require some time for them to get back to you.
 

·
Registered 1997 SLK230
Joined
·
271 Posts
Yes agreed I had some issues updating mine too. But I did succeed in the end and that was on Windows 10.
Mine also hung and I had to "bomb it out". If I remember I got round it by updating the Smart and/or sprinter models first before the the Benz. Was all a bit flakey I have to admit.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #20
i just found an updated version of the tool and its just updated mine but i cant test til the morning, il let you know if anything is different.
 
1 - 20 of 20 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top