Mercedes SLK World banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello all- Posting up some of my install notes and findings for the 2005 SLK350 R171 without COMAND, on replacing the A20 with an aftermarket NAV unit (Kenwood, Alpine, Pioneer etc), if it helps someone else.

Some of this info I found in other threads but nothing was consolidated in one place, or, not entirely correct- and then some things I discovered during the install which should make installing an aftermarket head unit with NAV, CarPlay BT etc very easy. I have been customizing cars / bikes for 30+ years, used to own a high end car stereo install shop (long time ago), computer engineer by trade, and general hobbyist. One of my specialties is audio systems design and speaker design.

My 2005 SLK 350 R171 came with the basic audio system A20, no COMAND, no changer, non-HK. Very poor sound. I mean, really bad- But I'm sure plenty of you know this. German cars are more about the car and performance than about the audio. lol. Which is ok by me because we can always upgrade the sound system :D My SLK had a blown driver side speaker when I bought it. I replaced the driver side speaker with a new old stock unit I found on the internet. Actually, these speakers are rather decent for OEM. The main issue is the horrible head unit sound quality and lack of adequate amplification.