Mercedes SLK World banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
AND MABEL
13,809 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Thought I'd try my hand at claying Mabel. Bought clay from here ..

Bilt Hamber Auto Clay REGULAR Autoclay Detailing Car Clay Bar 200g | eBay

Seemed very reasonable price, and doesn't require special lubricant, just water. :tu:

Quite stiff to mould into shape, but manageable.

Started on front wing as that was feeling quite gritty. Then the rain came on, so coffee time and waiting for it to stop to do the rest. Can't believe the muck that it's lifting. :surprise: Photo shows dirt from 40cm square area. :frown:

Attachments

·
Registered
285 Posts
It really does lift the ingrained dirt from the paint you cannot see even with regular washing of the car. I have been using the stuff for a few years now. Also leaves the smoothest touch to the paint :smile:

Just make sure you wax (or like) afterwards as it will strip previous wax off the paintwork.

·
Super Moderator
24,259 Posts
Tried it for the first time the other day.

Some numpty had left marks (hand prints and light scratches) all over the CRV.

Clay bar and some stage one polish pretty much did the job.
Can't believe how effective the combo was and no hard effort required either.

No more T cut.

·
AND MABEL
13,809 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Just make sure you wax (or like) afterwards as it will strip previous wax off the paintwork.
I'd washed (thought it was spotless) and waxed within the last few days, and I can see it is away. Oh well, one job done and another rears its head. Going to wear gloves next time I do this, my hands are stripped too! :D

I can see I'm going to have to invest in a polisher as well. :frown:

Life was so much easier when I drove bangers. No wash and go, just go! >:D

·
Registered
285 Posts