Mercedes SLK World banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the SLK World... literally just bought my car yesterday!!

I was hoping someone could help me with wheel/tire sizes.

I would like to get a set of 18" wheels and tires. But this is the first car I have had that has different size tires on the front 205/50-16 and back 225/50-16.

Could someone tell me what the comparable 18" tire sizes would be. As far as I can tell the WHEEL size is the same front to back, 18"x8".

Any advice appreciated.

·
Administrator 2009 SLK 55 AMG/Founding member 2006
94,201 Posts
As far as I can tell the WHEEL size is the same front to back, 18"x8"

18 inch front n back but not the same tires size

usually 225 in the front and 245 in the rear

·
94,201 Posts

·
Premium Member 2001 SLK320/2000 SLK230
2,627 Posts
You want front and rear to be within 3% of the same diameter and do not exceed 26". Mercedes wheels should have the proper offset: 37 front and 30 rear.

Can model sizes at Custom rims, wheel tire packages

225x40x18 is about the same diameter as a 255x35x18 (25.1" vs 25") but the rear offset is critical.

·
Registered 05 SLK55 & 06 Kleemann 55K S8
881 Posts
Padgett nailed it. I have 18x8.5 in the front and 18x9.5 in the rear. I wouldn't go any wider for wheel size. I have 235/40 in the front and 255/35 in the rear.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Ok this is really good information, thank you so much!!!

One more clarification: Related to offset....

I am looking at these wheels I like which have a offset of 40, which means that the rear would stick out an extra 10mm and the front would stick out an extra 3mm, correct?
How much give is there in this offset?
If I understand correctly, I would need to find wheels that come in 2 different configurations/offsets.
What would happen if I put offset 40 all around?
What about 35mm on back and 40mm on front?

Thanks for you're help answering my questions.

·
2,627 Posts