Mercedes SLK World banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Basic SLK Questions

4K views 19 replies 10 participants last post by  LordVader 
#1 ·
Hi guys. Not only am I a new member to the forums here, but I'm also fairly new to the Mercedes SLK. My situation on the surface is simple, my BMW is about to have a heart attack and the only car that I would ever think of replacing it with is the SLK.

What I'm curious about though, is something only those really familiar with the model of this car can answer. I'm doing my research right now, pricing out the different models in the 2009, and at the same time, looking at some older models (used of course), ranging back to 2006.

Bottom line, I'm after "bang for buck." I want a solid SLK that wont break the bank at the same time. Mileage/wear and tear aside, what updates have there really been since the 2006's? I ask this in both an engine sense and interior sense. Is there a certain year some of you prefer over others? Are the '09's really THAT much better which warrent paying 70+k?

Any help guiding me in the right direction is much appreciated. I thank you for your time and for having me here on the forums. Take care!

#3 ·
My $.02? The price point on the older SLK's - used as opposed to new - and the expectation that they are going to continue to free-fall price wise, I'd not be looking to tie money up in a new one.

Other than the '350 where the engine is completely new for '09, only the electronics really differ. If I were shopping for a '55, I'd be looking hard at the '07's, and for a '350, any year would do...

There are various threads discussing the pros and cons, so spend some time reading.

#6 ·
I'd like to first thank all of you for your replies. They're much appreciated.

Other than the '350 where the engine is completely new for '09, only the electronics really differ. If I were shopping for a '55, I'd be looking hard at the '07's, and for a '350, any year would do...